2013 ALA Youth Media Award Winners

2013 ALA Youth Media Award Winners

And the 2013 Michael L. Printz Award goes to:

In Darkness, by Nick Lake

And the recipients of Printz Honors are:

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, by Benjamin Alire Sáenz
Code Name Verity, by Elizabeth Wein
Dodger, by Terry Pratchett
The White Bicycle, by Beverley Brenna

Of these, I’ve only read Code Name Verity, and I liked it a lot.
(I’ve already updated the Printz Project with the winner and honor books. Head on over to check it out.)

And the 2013 John Newbery Medal goes to:

The One and Only Ivan, by Katherine Applegate

And the 2013 Caldecott Medal goes to:

This Is Not My Hat, by Jon Klassen
This is already a favorite at my house. I’m so pleased it won!

For the rest of the winners of the ALA Youth Media Awards, check out this ALA press release. Here’s a list of all the awards given out today:

Alex Awards
Andrew Carnegie Medal
Coretta Scott King Book Awards
Coretta Scott King – Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement
John Newbery Medal
(Laura Ingalls) Wilder Award
Margaret A. Edwards Award
May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture
Michael L. Printz Award
Mildred L. Batchelder Award
Odyssey Award
Pura Belpré Awards
Randolph Caldecott Medal
Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal
Schneider Family Book Award
Stonewall Book Award – Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s & Young Adult Literature Award
Theodore Seuss Geisel Award
William C. Morris Award
YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults

And here’s a link to the post of last year’s winners.

Gotta go! I have to go to the bookstore (or, more likely, order them online)!